Steak & Eggs

Are you ready for a wonderful weekend breakfast recipe? This recipe is from PaleOMG and it’s a delicious edgy breakfast option. Her blog contains tons of recipes that fit into the Paleo diet…if you didn’t guess from the title. I’ve made a few other things from her blog, and they are some of my favorite recipes; check back in the future when I do posts on which ones I can’t get enough of!

Back to Steak & Eggs…I was pleasantly awoken by a text from Tom (the bf) suggesting we make Steak & Eggs this morning. He was up hours before me, went to the store and headed over. Meanwhile, all I could do was drag myself out of bed and try not to cry about how sore my legs were from my workout yesterday (sympathy welcomed). Let’s just say, I have never been more thankful for the hand rails that they have in public restrooms for the handicap.

Anyway, Tom said a heavy protein meal was just what I needed to repair my muscles. We followed her recipe exactly (with the exception of using regular beef instead of elk steak), and I didn’t have any changes that I found more helpful, so you can follow along in pictures!

What you need:

  • Steak
  • Bacon
  • Yellow Onion
  • Salt & pepper
  • Basil
  • Butter
  • 2 eggs per steak
  • Avocado (optional…sorta!)

Directions:

Step 1: Chop up the onions and wrap your steak in bacon; season with salt, pepper and basil.

DSC06763

Step 2: Caramelize onions in butter and cook steak for 3-5 min on each side.

DSC06777

Cook alongside one another, because your last step is the eggs, and you don’t want your  food to get cold.

DSC06781

I was so excited to wear my new apron, it just arrived! It’s from Etsy…my not-so-secret addiction. My dad suggested it could be worn as a dress. Obviously advice I won’t be taking.

DSC06774

Step 3: Cook 2 eggs over easy. The recipe on PaleOMG has an easy way to cook over easy eggs if you struggle with getting these right. Check out the recipe at the bottom of her page for instructions. This is definitely not a meal where you want them to break before they make it to your plate.

DSC06786

Step 4: Cut slices of avocado and consume!

DSC06791

If Gordon Ramsey taught me anything, it’s that presentation matters.

DSC06795

Oh, Step 5: Pair with coffee and relax outside!

DSC06806

DSC06818 DSC06824

We had a few visitors during breakfast…I think they were trying to visit my plate.

3 thoughts on “Steak & Eggs

  1. Pingback: Artichoke Lemon Pesto Chicken Pasta | When Life Gave Me Lemonade

Leave a Comment

