Candle Holders Part 1: Paper Strips

Good morning!

Today is already off to a great start. It was raining when I went outside!!!! I love love love the rain. Especially after we’ve been trapped in the hot and humid weather pattern the last few weeks. Which admittedly is my least favorite combination of things. Actually it’s just the humidity I hate. Hence why I live in Colorado, or so I thought. Apparently it’s transitioned to Mordor.

I don’t know about you, but summer has just flown by for me! I base my opinion on how summer is going on how many times I make it to the pool. If I’m somewhere in the double digis I’m feeling pretty good about things. This year I’m at a pathetic 2. TWO!!!! So if you pass by me and don’t really notice me, it’s because I’m so white I’m practically transparent. I won’t take it personally if you don’t see me. I’m just so bummed I don’t even have a good enough tan to get me through ANY of the fall months. Maybe I’ll go as Casper for Halloween.

Today I’m going to show you how to make really cute candle holders! Tomorrow will be part two, and I will show you how to make another unique set of candle holders.

For so long I always wanted to make candle holders with the prepunched scrapbook paper wrapped around, but I looked all over the place and could not find the type of prepunched scrapbook paper I wanted. I finally thought that instead of having it prepunched, why not use the transparent designed paper that craft stores do carry! Worked like a charm.

DSC07549

What you need:

  • Mod Podge
  • Paintbrush
  • Candle Holders
  • Transparent designed scrapbook paper (from Hobby Lobby- It’s kinda foggy looking with designs printed on it)

Instructions:

Using strips of paper:

DSC07536

1. Measure horizontally around the candle holder, to see how much paper it will take to cover it. Measure from top to bottom to see how long you need to cut the strips of paper vertically. If there are little ridges at the top of the candle holder, measure so that your paper stops right below that rim.

2. Depending on how many different pieces of designed paper you’re using (I used 3 on one, two on another and 1 on the short holder), figure out how wide each strip needs to be so they evenly fit around the candle holder. Skip down to the next instruction set if you are only using one piece of paper.

3. Cut all the strips before gluing. I recommend using a paper cutter.

4. Spread a thin coat of mod podge over the candle holder where you are going to place the first strip. Make sure to rub your fingers over the strip after you stick it on the smooth out air bubbles. Some air bubbles and crinkles will form, but they will go away when it dries so don’t panic (like I did).

5. Repeat til candle holder is covered. This craft is surprising forgiving. If all the strips aren’t perfectly straight or the exact same size, the imperfections kind of get lost in the design. But try your hardest nonetheless.

Using one piece of paper:

DSC07535

1. Measure horizontally around the candle holder, to see how much paper it will take to cover it. Measure from top to bottom to see how long you need to cut the paper vertically. If there are little ridges at the top of the candle holder, measure so that your paper stops right below that rim.

2. Spread a thin coat of mod podge over the candle holder where you are going to start, about an inch wide. Press the paper on. Add more mod podge in 2 inch sections and smooth the paper around as you go. You are not using strips here. You are merely folding the paper around the candle holder.

3. Rub out air bubbles as you go. Similar to above, some crinkles and air bubbles will form, but they will go away once it dries.

I used little tea light candle inside. You could use taller ones for the taller holders if you want.

I purchased my candle holders from the dollar store, and spend less than $6 on this whole thing. Don’t forget to check back tomorrow when I show you some other unique candle holders for part 2!! 🙂

DSC07534

2 thoughts on “Candle Holders Part 1: Paper Strips

Leave a Comment

