Cake Pops

Hello!

So recently I have just loved the rain and clouds we’ve had. Admittedly, I love Colorado because of the 300+ days of sunshine, but on those other days, I always enjoy the weather so much too, probably because I feel a little deprived of it. BUT, when I was driving the other day there was the most beautiful rainbows! I honestly can’t believe how neat rainbows are when you stop to think about them! So cool!

Well while I was driving, I couldn’t resist the urge to take some pictures of them (totally not recommended)!! I made sure there weren’t any cars near me, and I’ve done it before and I’ll probably do it again! Colorado is too beautiful to pass up these opportunities. Unless of course an officer is reading this, in which case I safely came to a complete stop in a parking lot, turned my car off, removed my seat belt, checked for nearby pedestrians, opened my door slowly and took some pictures….!

It’s the full rainbow, how spectacular!!  DSC07859

Double rainbow! What does this mean?! (if you don’t get the reference you obviously haven’t seen this silly video yet)

DSC07835

DSC07861

So today I’m showing you cake pops! They are super easy, and make for a really cute gift. Wrap them in little baggies and tie a bow around!

What You Need:

  • Cake mix (of your choice- I used Funfetti because that’s the best in the whole world)
  • Cake pop pans (THIS is the one I have)
  • Sticks (you can get these in packs at Walmart, or any craft store)
  • A couple bags of chocolate melts (preferably in at least 2 colors)
  • Stryrofoam for a holder (be creative here if you have something else that would work- they also sell trays specifically for holding these)
  • Cooking spray
  • Sprinkles
  • Baggies and Ribbon (if giving them as a gift)

Instructions:

1. Spray your pans, both trays, with cooking spray. Cake pop pans each have little half circles for the cake pop, and they lay on top of each other. You fill one half with the cake mix, lay the other tray on top, and then as they bake they expand to fill the whole circle. Leave the tray with the holes in the top of the half circles, on top.

2. Follow cake mix instructions and baking instructions- I only made half the mix because I didn’t need too many- made approximately 30. If you made more mix than you need, just eat it. Cake mix is one of my favorite things in life. So is brownie mix. I used to wish when I was little (and still do) that all the big piles of dirt you would see would just turn to brownie mix.

3. After you take them out of the oven, there will be a little bit of cake that baked out of the holes on the top. Gently remove that excess.

4. Take the top pan off. Melt some of the chocolate in a bowl in the microwave.

5. Take a stick and dip one end in chocolate, and then into the cake pop. Let dry thoroughly.

DSC01017_2

6. Melt all the rest of the chocolate in a bowl or cup. Dip the ball all the way in, and stick in a tray to dry. If you are adding sprinkles, do it now while it’s wet.

DSC01045

7. If you want to drizzle chocolate on, wait for the dipped pop to dry. Then dip a spoon in the contrasting color of chocolate and swoosh back and forth, drizzling the chocolate on. Turn the cake pop in your other hand while you do this to evenly drizzle.

DSC01043

8. Let dry, then package if you’re giving them as gifts!

DSC01039

DSC01049

2 thoughts on “Cake Pops

  1. Yum, ready for some sweet in my life! I think these are the answer to my sweeten my day. Love all the variations! You’re so talented, Chase! Now I’m ready for your fine dining and dessert! Love, Aunt Di

Leave a Comment

