Banner Frame

Hi Friends!!

Feels like it’s been forever since I’ve talked to you. Guess it’s only been a week, but I hope you had a fantastic last few days. I’m so excited to be doing this post, because 1. I really do miss you extra this week! and 2. This is another one of my favorite craft projects!!

I don’t know if you know this but I’m a drummer. Kinda. Well I can drum. I’m teaching myself and I kind of am at that place in the road where I want to quit because I can’t seem to get over this hurdle of everything flowing together perfectly…yeah definitely don’t come here if you want the “don’t give up” speech, I normally have no problem quitting if I’m unhappy. For example, I considered tennis in high school, I even got some tennis pants and a tennis shirt, but then realized I would rather just head home after my “strenuous” day of high school instead. But I really do enjoy drumming so I’m trying to stick with it. I’ll re-update you in the future with hopefully some good news (or maybe you’ll just know before I tell you because you’ll see me on tv and realize that I’m a famous drummer). I was recently sent THIS video link, and it is one of the most inspiring clips I’ve seen. This video will give you the “don’t give up” speech without even saying it! I so encourage you to check it out, it will melt your heart and remind you of all your blessings that we sometimes take for granted…I know I can use a reminder every now and then!

Banner Frame

DSC08577_2

This craft was inspired by a frame I saw from The Examined Life. She is really great with papercrafts and mixed media types of projects. She very meticulously layers and designs things to look very multi-dimensional and very detailed. She definitely has some patience, let me tell you! I instantly fell in love with this idea from the moment I saw it, and I think you will too 🙂

What you need:

  • Frame, no glass
  • Hanging wire
  • Picture hanger
  • Glue gun
  • Mini clothes pins
  • Array of paper, stickers and anything else fun that you have that you can use, like string or brads or fabric etc.
  • Ribbon for bow

Instructions:

1. Take the glass and back of your frame off, if it has those. I found mine at Michael’s in the damaged goods section because the glass was chipped…which was perfect because then it was cheap and I didn’t need the glass or backing. I wanted mine to look rustic so I just so happened to find this neat frame that kind of looked like wood.

DSC08579

2. Attach the picture hanger to the frame. I got mine at Walmart for $1, and it came with a few in it.

DSC08269DSC08581

3. The next part is the fun stuff! You get to just be creative and create! Lay your frame down on the table, and design the banners inside it, so you can get a good idea of how they fit and what they look like. Figure out approximately how big you want each individual banner to be, they don’t need to be the same exact sizes, and lay them all down, 10 in my case, so you have a base to build on.

4. I did this over at Tom’s house with his family, and they have so much neat paper and additions, that I picked out all the stuff that matched the Earthy tones I was going with, and started mixing and matching and layering. An easy way to make this multi-dimensional is to just buy some double sided foam tape and stick things on that on each banner. Makes them pop out. Have fun with this, it’s a very open-ended-lots-of-freedom type of craft! Here are close ups of all my flags:

DSC08561

DSC08562

DSC08563

DSC08564

DSC08565

DSC08566

DSC08567   DSC08568  DSC08572

DSC08574

5. Once you have all your banner flags completed, get the hanging wire. I wanted silver or white, so if I didn’t see hanging wire for $1 at Walmart, I would have just painted some floral wire white and used that. Cut a long piece that stretches an inch or two outside each frame post horizontally. Coil one end in a bunch and hot glue to the back of the frame, gluing at the highest point you want your banner to touch. Leave some slack in your line, and do the same thing with the other side.

DSC08270DSC08267

6. Hang all your flags on the top row before you do the bottom row. You will hang the bottom row the same way you did the top, but make sure that the middle flag on the bottom, which will hang the lowest, will be high enough that it doesn’t get covered by the frame. Clip the flags on after you glue on the line.

DSC08271

7. Make a bow to hot glue on the center that matches your color scheme. I was going to use an Earthy yellow thick ribbon, but I found some strips of blank off white canvas that I had left over from when I was an art major. Hilarious now because I hated being an art major. Even though I always loved art. It was not my calling to pursue that route in school though 🙂

DSC08571DSC08580

8. All done!! Now sit back and stare at it all day because it’s so adorable!

DSC08559

DSC08575

Leave a Comment

