Second Home

Happy Labor Day Weekend!

Doing anything fun?? I’m actually headed to a wedding, but I have had a lot of fun recently, and am looking forward to laying low after that. Tom and I recently went to the show Peter and the Starcatcher, and before I even get into that, please look at Tom’s face in the picture below. If you know him then this will make you laugh because you can see written all over his face, exactly how he feels about our friend struggling with the camera to take the pictures. Not even pretending to humor anybody, haha. I just love him!

DSC08275

We did get a nice one too! I can’t decide which one is my favorite out of them though!

DSC08280

Since I’m doing a restaurant review, I thought I might say a quick sentence or two about this play. Peter and the Starcatcher was definitely a great show! It was very innovative for a lower budget show and completely full of humor! It wasn’t a musical at all, which I wasn’t expecting, but it was a unique take on the pre-peter pan story.

DSC08282

The actual review I wanted to highlight in this post was of a restaurant called Second Home. Second Home is a neat little place inside the JW Marriott in Cherry Creek. The JW is a beautiful hotel, definitely a pricey nightly rate, but you can pop in to Second Home to eat or have drinks without booking a stay.

DSC01896

Inside is a very modern, urban and classy decoration scheme. They have an entire wall doubling as a wine rack. You can see it in the background here, behind my adorable grandparents! My grandpa is going on 92, and still sharp as a nail!

DSC01907

Second Home also has unique fixtures, such as these lights pictured below. The kitchen is open so you can see inside it from the restaurant. That actually made the place feel a little more cozy and “second home-ish.” Still a high level of service and professionalism.

DSC01904

They have a BEAUTIFUL patio. Did you notice that amazing fire pit?? How much would you love to come to a happy hour here, and hang out on the deck on a lovely Colorado evening?!? All the furniture is clean and comfy, and as you can tell, it’s spacious!

DSC01911

The second course of this review is the food! You may start to notice a trend that I can’t help but order the most unhealthy thing on the menu….because it always sounds sooooo good! I ordered the Graceland Pancakes. There is no need to sugarcoat (pun intended) them, I’m going to tell you exactly what’s in it, and why I had lost this health battle before it even begun. The Graceland Pancakes are banana pancakes, peanut butter whipped cream, side of bacon, drizzled with maple syrup, all for $10. Yes, please! Bring it on cardiac arrest.

DSC01899

My mom got the Bread Pudding French Toast, also a heart attack in the making. For $12 you got this french toast with Nutella maple syrup and crème anglaise. These weren’t quite up our alley as much though. The bread pudding was a little overwhelming, and it sort of crossed into the category of more dessert less breakfast. I will add that their presentation of meals demonstrates that they treat food as an art and you can see their experience and passion showing through.

DSC01901

Second Home has a full breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. There are items of all different styles and lots of options that don’t come with just sugar and calories. We were just selective when ordering obviously 😉 I was actually not expecting to see such an extensive menu for this restaurant but was pleasantly surprised. This is a great place for a date, nice dinner, or happy hour. I definitely recommend giving it a try! I’ll be going back!

I would say that Second Home is in the $$ price range ($10-$20/per person-dinner rising to $15-$25). Keep in mind the portions are huge! Overall, I would give it a 3.9 – 4.1 out of 5 stars…I guess those would average to be 4 out of 5. Thank goodness for all those years of math in school, they’re finally paying off……!

3 thoughts on “Second Home

  1. Looks delicious, Chase! Grandpa and Grandma look like they’re having fun. =) Definitely will have to visit Second Home. Atmosphere is so important to me and Vince. You want to enjoy your meal in a cozy environment, or party environment, whichever one prefers. You and Tom look amazing. “Smile, Tom! Patience is a virtue, so they say.” Waiting for the next post. Oh, I need to see the Glitter post again, somehow my tech savvy computer skills deleted it, and I LOVE GLITTER! ASK ANY OF MY FORMER STUDENTS! Love, Aunt Di

    • Glad you found the other posts! Yeah they are organized in categories on the left tool bar. We will all have to visit this restaurant, you guys would love it!

Leave a Comment

