Reindeer Frame

Hi everyone!

Whew, can you believe all the sad things that have been happening recently?? I still am so shocked about the shooting at Arapahoe High School. I hope everyone is still praying for Claire Davis and her family!

This seemed like an opportune time to say thank you to all the officers and law enforcement teams that our nation is blessed with! Have you ever thought about how lucky we are that when we are in an emergency, that we can pick up the phone and call for help, and a total stranger will show up to help us, no matter what the circumstances or how dangerous?? They would actually risk their lives for yours, and they don’t even know you. It gives me goosebumps thinking about what a blessing that is. I will spare you the soap box speech I gave to my friend the other day at 6 am (I’m sure he was thrilled) but it always surprises me that people “don’t like cops,” especially for things like giving out speeding tickets. How rude for the law enforcers to give you a ticket for breaking the law. Don’t get me wrong, I hate getting tickets like anybody else, but if I’m speeding then I hardly think it’s rational to blame a cop for my speeding ticket. That’s obviously just a simple example, but I’m so thankful that we have laws and that we have people to enforce them. I am very thrilled to know that while I might like speeding sometimes, I don’t have to worry about everyone flying down the highway at 150mph, or someone breaking into my house with no option for help. How lucky that when there is, say, a school shooting, that there are 1000’s of men and women who respond immediately and rush into the school to protect the kiddos.

Some of us go to work and do paperwork from behind a desk, and that’s fantastic because every job is important for different reasons. But some people go into work and risk their life, and they don’t even come close to receiving the appreciation, respect and gratitude that they deserve. Next time you have the opportunity, I definitely encourage you to say thank you to them. We are so very fortunate to have them!

From the bottom of my heart, thank you so much to all the men and women in law enforcement out there, you’re a blessing!!

Reindeer Frame

My mom loves reindeer so I was trying to think of a way to get her something for the house that was reindeer-esque but something she hadn’t seen before. And this idea popped into my head. Don’t worry, I already gave it to her so this isn’t spoiling anything. πŸ™‚ After all, she has to be able to put it up for Christmas!!

What you need:

  • Frame
  • 2 Branches
  • Floral wire
  • Bow
  • Dangling doorknob bells (or bells that you attach ribbon to)
  • Glue gun
  • Duct tape
  • Photo(s)

Instructables:

Step 1: Insert the pictures that you are going to use. I chose to use reindeer pictures, but you could use winter pictures or Christmas pictures. You will still be able to swap them in and out, but it’s easiest if you put the ones you want right now in. By the way, you don’t have to get a 4 slot photo frame, any one will work. I got that one at Walmart for less than $10.

Step 2: Glue the center of the bow on the center of the frame at the bottom.

Step 3: Using floral wire hang the dangling doorknob bells from two latches on the back. Make sure the latches are pointed upward so the wire has no chance of sliding off. I set mine so that half of the loop was behind the frame and half was showing, with all the bells dangling down. I got my doorknob bells at the Dollar Tree. Guess how much they were? πŸ˜‰

DSC00769

Step 4: Using floral wire again, layer it up several times so it’s nice and thick, and create a little loop on the hook where you would hang the frame. Depending on the type of hook your frame comes with, or if you want to attach a different one, you can decide what to do; but the purpose of the floral wire loop is so your frame will stay hanging on the wall hook while it is a little further from the wall, since the branches will be glued on the back pushing it outward a little bit. Tip: keep the part you twist on the bottom on the loop so that when the top is hanging on the wall, it’s not as noticeable.

DSC00766

Step 5: Line up the two branches, one on each side of the back. Add a huge glob of glue from the glue gun and hold branch in place til it dries. Try to find branches that don’t bench “backward” into the wall. Also, you can cut the bottom of the branches before you glue them so they line up with the bottom of the “frame beam,” but I just left mine long because I can still get the pictures in and out.

DSC00761

Step 6: After they are dry, cut a thin piece of duct tape and tightly tape it horizontally across the branch on the “frame beam” for extra support. Be sure you don’t tape below the frame beam because you still want to be able to swap the pictures in and out if you choose.

DSC00771

Merry Christmas!!

4 thoughts on “Reindeer Frame

  1. Hi Chase, I agaree with your comments about the events that have recently occurred. We are lucky to live in this country and should appreciate the benefits of such. Quit blaming others for what befallsl you if you break the law, and be a responsible lhuman being! Also I LOVE this project and, as you know, is right up my alley! What a fabulous idea, and I know your mother must love it! Way to go. Merry Christmas!

    • Hi Judy,
      Couldn’t agree more, makes me sad that people blame them for doing their job.
      So glad you like the frame, I thought it came out very cute, and Deb loved it πŸ™‚ you’ll have to come over and see it soon! I’m so so so sorry about your fall, I couldn’t believe that when my mom told me; i hope you’re doing okay!!! Merry Christmas!

  2. Hi, my beautiful Chase. The family of Claire has to be in such devastation. Words cannot explain their pain. I think about them every day and what they must be enduring. To have your child hurt in such a horrific way is unimaginable. We are all vulnerable every time we walk out our door. Our country has so many good people, but unfortunately, there are just as many individuals living in their own dysfunctional despair. Saying “I Love You” to your family and friends every day is more important than ever. As a former teacher, I have seen the sadness that is present in our young children. Teachers need help in their classrooms to help the children and their families who are having a difficult time. So many need help; it isn’t available in classrooms. Mental health is an issue that is very much present in our every day lives. Reaching these children and their families early on is so crucial. Our politicians need to listen to educators about the kind of help that is needed in our elementary schools, as well as in our middle and high schools. They need to stop the blaming and pointing their fingers at teachers. Instead, give teachers the tools and personnel to help deal with children and families who are in need of help.
    I say to the world; lead by example, be polite, say thank you, teach your children to be responsible and respectful of those around them. Help them understand that the world does not revolve around only their needs. Kindness goes a long way, a smile says so much to someone who may be having a bad day. People are so consumed with their own needs and lives that they have forgotten about manners and courtesy. It’s simple and easy. Think about others once in awhile and it will come back to you in a positive way.
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all. I pray to “GOD” OUR SAVIOR that he will help Claire and her family during their time of need. Thank you, Chase, for letting others know the importance of tolerance and love. I love you. Aunt Diane

    • Thanks for the message! I agree with all of that. I definitely think things need to shift and change in our country, hopefully sooner rather than later. we should chat more about this when i see you next. in the meantime we’ll keep praying about everything!! love u guys!

Leave a Comment

