Prayer Jar

Happy New Year!!

I’m not sure if you have this problem, but I can be pretty certain, as we are creatures of habit, that it’s going to take me a few weeks, or maybe months, before I remember to write 2014 instead of 2013. Especially since last month I accidentally wrote 2012 on a check.

Speaking of nothing related, I got a call recently that was from a number I didn’t know, so I answer it and a recording says, “Please hold.” Umm. You can’t call me and tell me to hold. If I call you I feel like that’s fair to put me on hold, but not the other way around. Turned out to be from my gym. And a nice woman gets on to tell me that they actually didn’t need to call me. So I get a call, that I have to hold for, only to be told they don’t need anything. That was fun. Pray for me and my patience 😉 ….and what a good opportunity today’s craft is for that!

 Prayer Jar

DSC01071

So I’m kind of cheating and doing three craft posts back to back, but it’s my blog so I can do what I want. New Years is a great time to start new habits and I think this is one that is actually realistic to stick to since you don’t have to do it everyday. Well sort of.

So how this works is that we all have things we want to pray about in our own lives, or other people’s lives, and sometimes it can feel overwhelming to make sure you pray about them all. The idea of the jar is that you are putting it from your hands to His, which is where it belongs. Psalm 55:22 says, “Give your burdens to the Lord, and He will take care of you.” When we realize that God has His hand in the situation, it is so much easier to give things to Him, and stop trying to control the outcomes. So you write the prayer on a slip of paper, pray about it, and then drop it in the jar.

At the end of the year, on New Years Eve, a neat tradition would be to go back through and read all of them to see what all God has done with each of your prayers. Often, at the time of the event, it is hard to see what God is doing and how He is working, but many times in hindsight the bigger picture is so clear.

What You Need:

  • Jar (you can use a jar with a lid, or a mason jar and cut a slit in the top)
  • Hot glue
  • A few different types of scrapbook paper
  • Decorative items -as always you can use my ideas or go in your own direction- I used:
    • burlap ribbon
    • silver chipboard letters
    • white poster paint pen
    • chalkboard gift tag
    • rhinestone gems
    • twine
    • thread
    • clothes pin
    • button
    • wood tag
    • sticker
    • business card sized happy note

I don’t want to insult your intelligence by telling you how to hot glue things to a jar, but I’m going to add brief directional captions to the pictures of my jar below to help you out in case you want the help.

DSC01044

I started with the twine under the rim and tied a double knotted bow. Next I added the burlap ribbon. I glued one end of ribbon to the jar, and slowly glued and wrapped the rest of it around. I did the same thing with the sparkly white glitter paper, and the gray paper.

DSC01046

I then cut out banner flags in different scrap book paper and glued them to a few pieces of thread. I then glued one end of the thread to the jar, dangled the banner flags as low as I wanted, and glued the other end of the thread to the jar. I did the same thing with the word “PRAYER” but I used the chipboard letters and twine.

DSC01048

Under that, with the white poster paint pen I wrote “JAR” and added some little rhinestone gems and an arrow cut from the leftovers of the white sparkly glitter paper.

DSC01060

On this side I glued on a clothes pin and clipped in a happy note. I used the final remnants of the glitter paper, because part of my soul died at the thought of throwing away even a speck of it, to make a cross and a little arrow dash design.

DSC01062

To make the pocket for the slips of paper, I folded a piece of brown paper, sewed dashes along the edges (for decoration) and then pinned the button. After you do those three things, then you can glue the pocket together, and then glue it to the jar. Don’t reverse that order, otherwise it will be a pain to sew and attach the button. I may or may not have accidentally done it that way. And it may or may not have sucked.

DSC01064

“you are loved” button that I got from a shop at the holiday convention. Because you are loved.

DSC01082

I added more rhinestone gems in different sizes around the knob on the lid and wrote “From your hands to His” on the chalkboard gift tag with the white poster paint pen. I glued the wood tag that says, “especially for you” to the chalkboard tag so that it didn’t cover anything when it dangled. I tied them around the knob and added a little hot glue to the ties to make sure they stayed put.

DSC01085

Lastly, I put a sticker at the center of the bottom of the jar. I thought this was a nice friendly message to see at when you’re dropping slips of paper in. I also needed to cover up the price sticker from the very bottom that wouldn’t peel all the way off.

DSC01083

DSC00904

4 thoughts on “Prayer Jar

  1. This a wonderful tradition to start with ourself and our family. Prayer goes a long way in one’s life. Thanks for reminding me to continue to pray each day, which I do already. We all need God’s love around us, and I know he is around you, Chase! Love this idea. It’ll be fun to read the prayers next New Year’s Eve! God Bless everyone! Happy New Year, and may 2014 be a wonderfully healthy, joyful and blessed year for all. Love, Aunt Di

  2. Love this! I did something similar this past year and actually stuck to it everyday. I had a jar and every night before I went to bed I wrote something that made me happy that day. It was a nice way to find the good in everyday.

    • Thanks Kaley! 🙂
      That’s a really neat idea too! I think that’s so beneficial to be intentional about finding the good, which there always is, when our society and world is always screaming about the bad! Glad you did that!! That’s one of the many reasons why I love you heaps and heaps!

Leave a Comment

