Fabric Strip Banner

Thanks for stopping by!

Before we get to craft time, I have to complain about car washes.

Car wasssshhhesss. Ugh. I hate getting my car washed!! Don’t get me wrong, I like a clean car, but it’s hardly worth it to me to deal with the car wash places. They are all different and I don’t feel like there is clear direction. So. Most recently when I went to wash my car (one day before it snowed of course), I drove in to the parking lot, stressed out, but obviously thinking I was overreacting. Nope. I start to pull up to one of the lanes to pay, and the lanes were labeled on which service you picked, but of course I can’t see the paragraph long list of the “menu” items until I’m super close. So I start reversing because I’m in the wrong lane (which I’ll find out later doesn’t actually matter). On my way backwards, I’m trying to veer to the side so I didn’t block any lanes, and I run over the curb. Stupid. I sure hope everyone saw it.

I finally pick the specific service I’m going to do and go through the wash. I liked this part, because I literally have to do nothing and have no chance of screwing anything up, as long as I do nothing. So then I reach the end and find out there are more lanes I have to pull into for the vacuuming and cleaning of the inside. The light that tells you which lane to pull into is really far away and you would never know to look there unless you got your car washed there before, which I hadn’t, and will probably forget by the next time I wash my car. So I just pull into a random lane behind a couple cars, and am confused out of mind. “Am I supposed to wait in the car til I pull up to the vacuum position?” “Do I just stand on this awkward curb by the workers vacuuming and let them move my car?” “Why does everyone else know what to do here?!” “Do I leave my car on and go to the waiting area that I just now saw?” “How do I know when they’re done, I pulled into the lane farthest away blocked by other lanes of cars!?” “I hate this.”

In case you’re wondering which of those things I did, I did all of them. I sat in my car for awhile. Then I got out and stood on the awkward curb by the workers vacuuming. Then I walked over to the waiting area, where I panicked the whole time that they were waiting for me to come get my car and I couldn’t see. And lastly, I panicked some more when they wanted to double check my receipt (I must’ve given them the impression that I didn’t know what I was doing….), and I couldn’t find it. Of course I couldn’t find it, I had only had it in my possession for about five mintues!!! This whole experience made me feel like I was in Breaking Bad, and instead of freaking out about laundering drug money at the car wash, I was just a customer with a dirty car.

Anyway. I’m never washing my car again.

Fabric Strip Banner

You may or may not have noticed that I love mint. I do. And I also love making things that could double as decorations for the wedding! My banner is about 5-6ft.

DSC02081

What You Need:

  • Twine
  • Fabric glue (optional)
  • Scissors (fabric scissors, or any that work well on fabric)
  • Different sections of fabric; I used 5 different colors/patterns:
    • 1 yd of bright mint
    • 1 yd of bright seafoam blue
    • 1/2 yd of letter print
    • 1/2 yd white
    • 1/2 yd of doctor’s scrub blue (I made up these names myself)

Instructables:

Step 1: Cut all your fabric into about 1 1/2 inch strips; cut lengthwise so you have long pieces.

DSC02023

Step 2: Cut the twine to about 5-6ft and double it over to ensure it does not break. Tie a knot at each end, leaving some excess twine on the outer side of the knot.

Step 3: Fold the strip in half (to get varying lengths like mine, don’t fold in half, but instead fold so that one end is a lot shorter than the other).

DSC02024

Grab the two ends…

DSC02025

And pull through. Make it tight.

DSC02027

Step 4: Repeat with all the strips.

DSC02072

Step 5: Tie a loop in the excess twine on the outer ends. Make sure it is tight, and cover your knot with fabric glue so it doesn’t slide or come undone.

Step 6: Hang up your new banner and smile! This can be used as a backdrop for a photobooth, a banner to hang on a wall, a banner to hang on the front of a table, a wedding decoration, or anything else clever that you think of! If you have some good ideas, share them in the comments!

DSC02059

DSC02076

6 thoughts on “Fabric Strip Banner

  1. I love the strip banner, Chase. Mixing other pale colors would look so pretty…all flowing together. I think that color of green will look beautiful in your wedding!!!! Can’t wait for that day…I know it will be amazing! =)

    Car washes…just take a trip through the regular car wash. I’ll drive you through it next time! =) You’re so funny…love you! Aunt Di

    • thanks aunt diane!! i am really excited for it too!! 🙂

      thanks for the offer, I probably could handle it if someone else was driving and all i had to do was sit there 😉
      love u too!

  2. Chase, once again, you have awed me with your creativity. I LOVE the banner. You could do so many things with different colors for different occasions; i.e., Christmas!!!! And of course I love the mint and once again the letter print; I had no idea they had fabric like that! I have to get out more. It makes me want to run through it like a child!

    • thanks judy!! yes, the possibilities are endless, and it was super inexpensive. You could add different types of fabrics too to add a further dimension than just print/color.

      you are more than welcome to come over and run through it 🙂

  3. Ha ha I am dying laughing about your car wash experience! I hope you have recovered from that experience. Love Love Love the banner!!!

    • haha! I’m sure you’re not surprised at all 😛
      I’ve decided that I likely will not go again unless I have a co-passenger to help direct me. can’t risk another experience like last time..

      Glad you liked the banner! 🙂 I was really happy with the way it came out!! Hope you had a wonderful trip!!

Leave a Comment

